The Compact is made up of not more than 23 members, with a majority of the members being from private business.

About Us

The purpose of the Fresno Compact is to focus community-wide efforts on preparing students for the increasing demands of society and the workplace. In doing so, it provides a mechanism for mobilizing business and community support of local public schools, and it acts as a clearinghouse for the sharing of information among school district, business, and community leaders.

Mission and Vision

The mission of the Fresno Compact is to focus community-wide efforts on preparing students for the increasing demands of society and the workplace.

The vision is graduating every student ready for a dynamic economic environment.


The Compact was formed in 1990 by businesses and the Fresno Chamber of Commerce, whose members were concerned about the difficulty of finding young workers equipped to succeed even in entry level jobs; and about the problems such young people have in supporting a family, finding satisfying work and contributing positively to the economy. Schools and community leaders joined with business in organizing the Compact. In 2011, the Fresno Compact incorporated and was designated as a 501c3 organization.

Board of Directors

R. Michael Alexander
President and CEO, United Way of Fresno County

Brian Angus
CEO, Fresno Economic Opportunities Commission

Michael Berg
Superintendent, Central Unified School District

Anna Borgeas
Vice President, Greater Fresno Area Chamber of Commerce

Jeff Brians
Partner, Blair, Church, and Flynn Engineering Consultants

Heather Calandra
Marketing Specialist, PELCO by Schneider Electric

Dr. Joseph Castro
President, California State University, Fresno

Marty Dietz
Principal, Darden Architects

Elizabeth Dooley
CEO, Educational Employees Credit Union

Michael Hanson
Superintendent, Fresno Unified School District

Debbie Hemker
Sr. Vice President and Area Manager, Kaiser Permanente

James Hendricks
James Hendricks and Associates

Dr. Bernell Hirning
Associate Regional Dean, National University

Nancy Hollingsworth
CEO, St. Agnes Medical Center

Dr. Richard Kriegbaum
President, Fresno Pacific University

Matt Navo
Superintendent, Sanger Unified School District

Delfino Neira
Director, County of Fresno Department of Social Services

Lonnie Petty
President, Strategic Mechanical, Inc.

Preston Prince
CEO, Fresno Housing Authority

Kendra Rogers
Director of Community Investment, Granville Homes

Matt Rosenfeld
Vice President and General Manager, CBS 47 and KSEE 24

Luis Santana
Executive Director, Reading and Beyond

Dr. Bill Stewart
Interim Chancellor, State Center Community College District

Todd Suntrapak
CEO, Valley Children's Hospital

Ashley Swearengin
Mayor, City of Fresno

Julie Tone
Director of External Relations, AT&T

Darrell Tuckness
Finance Executive, PPG Industries

Joe Williams
President, Richard Heath and Associates

Dr. Janet Young
Superintendent, Clovis Unified School District

Jim Yovino
Superintendent, Fresno County Office of Education


Michael Spencer
Vice President, Harris Construction

Vice President

Shannon Koontz-Monis
Customer Relations Manager, Energy Solutions and Service, PG&E


Marcus Johnson
Executive Director

Eric Johnson

Previous Executive Directors include Dr. Harold Haak, Sid Cox, Dr. Bill Stewart, Dr. Peter Mehas, and Dr. Thomas Crow.

Board of Directors Meeting SCHEDULE 2015-2016


Friday, September 11, 2015

Friday, October 2, 2015

Friday, November 6, 2015

Friday, December 11, 2015

Friday, February 5, 2016

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Friday, April 1, 2016

Friday, May 6, 2016


Fresno County Office of Education

Kaiser Permanente

Educational Employees Credit Union

Fresno EOC

Pelco by Schneider Electric

20th Annual Shareholders' Luncheon / TorNino's

National University

Harris Construction